General information

Information Portal and Download of Geodata

www.lebensraumvernetzung.at is an online information portal provided by the Austrian Federal Ministry of Sustainability and Tourism which serves to provide existing geodata and further information on ecological networks.

 

Why Ecological Networks?

The anthropogenically induced loss and fragmentation of habitats, which are expressed by the high degree of fragmentation of cultural landscapes in Austria, are adversely affecting migration and dispersal possibilities of living beings and cause the loss of ecological fitness, genetic variability and biodiversity. Flora and fauna as well as the human being are negatively affected by the degradation of ecosystem services. National and international conventions, laws and regulations therefore demand the preservation and restoration of ecological networks and green infrastructure.

alt-text-smaragdeidechse © Peter Sehnal
alt-text-fleischmann-tal © Frank Fleischmann - Fotolia.com

At European level, there are a number of initiatives to promote ecological networks, and respective projects and concepts can be found in the majority of countries bordering Austria. In Austria, the implementation of ecological networks is currently at provincial level at different stages of development. In Styria and in the district Pinzgau in Salzburg for example, green zones and green corridors are protected by decree. In several other Austrian federal provinces the theoretical and technical bases for ecological networks have already been established, however these are not legally binding. Since 2018 a nationwide Austrian concept for supra-regional ecological networks is existing.

Allgemeine Informationen zum Projekt

Informationsportal und Geodatendownload

www.lebensraumvernetzung.at ist ein Informationsportal des österreichischen Bundesministeriums für Nachhaltigkeit und Tourismus, das der Bereitstellung von vorhandenen Geodaten und weiterführenden Informationen zum Thema Lebensraumvernetzung dient.

 

Warum Lebensraumvernetzung?

Der anthropogen bedingte Verlust und die Fragmentierung von Lebensräumen, die am hohen Zerschneidungsgrad der Österreichischen Kulturlandschaften ablesbar sind, beeinträchtigen Wander- und Dispersionsmöglichkeiten von Lebewesen und bewirken die Einbuße von Fitness und genetischer Variabilität von Arten und der Biodiversität in Ökosystemen. Neben der Flora und Fauna wird auch der Mensch durch die Degradation von Ökosystemleistungen negativ beeinflusst. Nationale und internationale Konventionen, Richtlinien und Gesetze fordern daher den Erhalt und die Wiederherstellung des Biotopverbundes mittels Grüner Infrastruktur.

alt-text-smaragdeidechse © Peter Sehnal
alt-text-fleischmann-tal © Frank Fleischmann - Fotolia.com

Auf europäischer Ebene gibt es eine Reihe von Initiativen zur Grünraumvernetzung und in der Mehrzahl der an Österreich angrenzenden Länder finden sich entsprechende Projekte und Konzepte. In Österreich ist die Umsetzung der Grünraumvernetzung auf Länderebene unterschiedlich weit entwickelt. Per Verordnung abgesichert sind Grünzonen und Grünkorridore in der Steiermark und im Salzburger Pinzgau. Auch in einzelnen anderen Bundesländern liegen Fachgrundlagen zur Grünraumvernetzung vor, die jedoch bislang keine rechtliche Verbindlichkeit haben. Die Vernetzungskonzepte der diversen Bundesländer liegen außerdem nicht immer flächendeckend vor und basieren auf verschiedenen Methoden. Seit dem Jahr 2018 gibt es für überregionale Lebensraumvernetzung einen Vorschlag für ganz Österreich.